The Barnes and Noble NookColor

For Christmas my girlfriend was having a hard time finding something for me as I am rather hard to shop for as I tend to just go out and buy it or I do not say much about an item one way or another. She first decided that she wanted to get me a Galaxy Tab but after looking into it, the Tab would have been nearly one-thousand dollars which is way too much. Even though the item is made here in South Korea by Samsung it is not cheaper.

Galaxy Tab

As an avid reader she asked if I would be interested in the Barnes and Noble NookColor. It does what I want it to do, read books and it allows me to listen to music and other stuff that she figured I would enjoy. I already have an Amazon Kindle and love it, but I figure between the two readers I should be able to read just about anything. I called B&N and found out it would “run” in Korea and I ordered it. After being sent to my parent’s house and finally making it to Korea I open it up and register it to find out I can not use it in Korea. As a matter of fact, I can not use it anywhere but the United States and Canada. Needless to say I was not happy and neither was my girlfriend as her perfect gift was a dud.

NookColor

What is the point of an eReader if you can not enjoy it while traveling? It is a selling point as far as I am concerned. With my Amazon Kindle I can buy anything and start reading it in a matter of minutes, no matter where I am in the world. While the NookColor looks and feels impressive it is anything but. I was really looking forward to using it and drawing comparisons but after one day I was already calling B&N and preparing to send it back to the States to get a full refund.

If you are in North America you have a big decision between many different eReaders but if you do a lot of long-term international travel or you are like me and live abroad there really is no comparison, the Amazon Kindle is the ultimate choice at this time.

Amazon Kindle 3

About Ty

Living in Korea and traveling the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

