World Cup Comes to a Close in Korea

Korean Football Icon

As Saturday night turned to Sunday South Korea found itself in a state of disappointment as their national team fell to Uruguay. In a game plagued by yellow cards and missed chances. The Korean national team dubbed “The Red Devils” fell 2-1. Not from South Korea but living here I was hoping that The Devils would continue to play in the world cup as I have never experienced the fever of a country in the cusp of World Cup Fever. It was a lot of fun. The cheering and hugging as the Korean team scores a goal and the yelling and jeering when they are subject to a bad call from the referees. Wold Cup is not this popular in the United States and it is unfortunate as it was one of the greatest sports feelings I have ever experienced that surpassed my time when the Seattle Seahawks were in the Superbowl (they too lost).

I had hoped to continue to keep my interest with the world cup but just like the energy draining goal by Uruguay ‘s second goal. It did not help that the USA team was also defeated in the early morning hours of Sunday. My two big teams that I was cheering for have both fallen in less than 24 hours. While I still would like to see Germany and Argentina take first and second even that appears to be in jeopardy as they will face each other next if Argentina can pull off another victory in their next game.  On of them will come out a victor and move on to the Quarterfinals.

Either way being in a country that loves soccer and having them in the World Cup was an experience that I will cherish forever and I am glad that I was able to experience it first hand.

Red Devil Icon

Han-Jang-Hee

Korean Fans

About Ty

Living in Korea and traveling the world.
This entry was posted in Korea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

